When I got out of my bed and set my feet on the icecold floor, it was 12:45 in the afternoon. I woke up at 9:30 when my phone kept beeping saying ‘new message waiting’. I deleted one of the messages in my inbox and then I received the ‘new message’ which was a forward from my best friend wishing me a happy friendship day. I replied to her. Then I forwarded it to just one name on the address book and didn’t occur sending it to any other.i thot it could be a substitute to the usual I am alive and thinking of you message that i send him everyday . It read “the willingness to listen, the patience to understand, the strength to support, the heart to care and just to be there, that is the beauty of a freind. wish you a happy freindship day!”
I had left my book next to my pillow when I went off to sleep early in the morning. I picked it up and resumed reading.
After a while I got a call from another very dear friend. I eagerly wished him a happy friendship day. I got his message after I hung up; he had sent it long back. He is the friend who will always be there for me, whatever we do/be, either of us. And I owe him big.
I read for some more time, lying in bed under the blanket, my body stretched out under it.
After sometime I got a message saying, ‘thanx da. Same to you. Never knew you followed these days too’. I don’t. I follow my instinct!

